The Chicken Leg…

Where to go for lunch is always a huge debate… no one can decide where to go … so half an hour before actually going for is spent deciding on where to go for lunch … its not that the choices are endless … but still it’s a daily discussion that has to take place…

The decision was made today to go a place called “Al Farooj Fresh”. This is a fast-casual food chain owned by Dubai’s Al Islami Foods (A leading provider of halal food products) Its located in Al Khuwair close to the new highway that has divided Al Khuwair and made it impossible for anyone to visit the people behind it. I have relatives that lives there, I have not seen them in months…

This place is on the civilized side of Al Khuwair. The area that is accessible without venturing behind the highway. It is also one of those places that is managed and operated by Egyptians… that in its self raises a few questions about the place… for many reasons (not to be discussed here) I am not too comfortable with Egyptians handling my food… in any case, the decision democratically made, and we did go there for lunch.

I arrived a bit early, and was to order for the rest until they arrived. I had received specific instructions to order the Kabsa and to ask for only leg pieces. No breasts please. So I sit and wait for one of the many Egyptians to attend to me. I wait and I wait but nothing happens. I finally wave to one of them and he comes to the table. This guy was one of those fat heavy double fried fool and ta3miya eating Egyptians.

Side note: These guys get issued the same uniforms as the normal Egyptians. I guess these uniforms dont come in double XXL. They SQUEEZE into these things and wear them proudly. You see them every where that is managed by Egyptians (KFC, Hardees, Chicken Tika, preego)

So i am talking to this fat sweaty man trying to order lunch for 4 people. I can feel that this guy has his mind somewhere els… i dont think he was listening to me … but then again…. i found it very hard to concentrate as well … all i could think about is how he got into his clothes as his body was fighting very hard to get out of them…. every possible opening in his shirt had some flesh oozing out …. his pants started just under his breasts which was hard to believe… not only has he managed to get into them … he managed to get them all the way up there… and he continued to adjust them just between the legs as he tookl my order … I kept thinking of telling him that you dont have to wear them so high up … the reason they are uncomfortable is because you are WEARING THEM TOO HIGH !! if you them properly YOU WONT HAVE TO DO THAT WHILE I ORDER MY FOOD !!! but i didnt say anything …. as i said before … i am uncomfortable with Egyptians handling my food…. let alone Egyptians that are upset with me…

OM: 4 kabsa meals … but i want only red meat … ya3ni legs … no breasts

FE: but the meal comes with half a chicken …

OM: ok fine … you have the kids kabsa meal that comes with one piece of chicken no? give me 3 of those with legs and one normal kabsa

FE: no i cannot do that (la2a la2a ma2darsh)

OM: and why not ? (leyh ya 3am?)

FE: what should i do with the breasts? (wa ana 7a3mil bisudoor eyh)

OM: I dont know (ti3mil feehum kufta … wi ana mali)

FE: thats not possible.. i cant do it (kuftat eyh ya 3am … la2a !)

This is when i noticed him adjusting his trousers between the legs again and thought of the position i was in… i am sitting here arguing with a sweaty egyptian fat man that is going to serve me food. so i decided to back off and just told him to do what he can … Funny enough we had to wait 35 minutes to get our food while people that ordered after us … got their food ate and left … I still dont understand why i cant just get the pieces of chicken that i want ?? the demand for breasts must be much higher than legs ?? there is more meat on the breast. its healthier. Better value overall. but this guy will not agree to get me just legs…. The same argument i have at KFC… and even there it is managed by Egyptians …

So the question: is not giving you the piece of chicken that you want an Egyptian thing?

About this entry