The National Carrier …

I am really ashamed of Oman Air.

Long Side Note: When they changed their logo… i was very excited … i immediately went to their website… and got disappointed. First of all… omanair.com is blocked by Omantel… but Omantel are a different story all together … I checked it when i was out of the country. Guess what i found? its redirected to smartraveller.gov.au and there is a warning about visiting Oman. The site has a copy right notice so i dont want to get into any trouble. The real website is http://www.omanair.aero and while they had launched the new logo, they forgot to update the site. I understand if you cant change the logo on the planes… but the website??? thats just shameful. I write them a note telling them how i feel about it and i get completely ignored. Probably because no one really checks or even worse, no one really cares. In any case, the website now has the new logo. .. most of the planes still dont.

I was recently booked to travel on Oman Air. I booked my flight through my travel agent, paid, and received the ticket. The Travel Agent told me that this is a code sharing flight, so it might actually be on another airline, but Oman Air has arranged it so the flight has an WY number. fair enough, right?

I get to the airport 1 and half hours before the flight time. I go to the Oman Air counter and wait in line. 15 minutes later i reach the front and give my ticket to the Oman Air Counter Person (OACP). He has a fight with the computer for 7 minutes (i am now 22 minutes in waiting) he then says.. this is registered with the “other” airline. Please go to their counter. I leave that line and go and join the other line and wait at the end of the Q. Another 10 minutes wait (32 minutes) when i go to the top of the line i presented my ticket. The guy has his own fight with the computer for 3 minutes then made a few phone calls for 2 minutes (37 minutes have gone – 50 minutes to departure) He asks to wait as he didnt find my booking. He says that he made a call to someone who is on it and he waiting for him to call back. He then shoos me to the side and starts “serving” the other customers. So i wait for another 15 minutes (45 minutes to departure) and go back to him. He tells me that they have not found my booking and that i should go back to Oman Air.

This is when i called my travel agent as it would seem that he has not booked me anywhere?! I call him and he assures me that he has made the booking with Oman Air. He says: I can prove it .. so i ask him to speak to the Oman Air Counter Person. so i hand over the phone. They speak. Suddenly the OACP leaves the counter takes my phone and walks away. I can hear him screaming at the travel agent. SCREAMING obscene foul language… every Four letter word you can think off… he comes back and asks me what is this guys name i want to complain about him … this is now 35 minutes to departure … IS THIS THE TIME FOR THAT? i am going to miss my flight !! suddenly the travel agent calls again … telling that the OACP shut the phone on his face and that he want his name so he can complain … CAN YOU BELIEVE THIS ??? …. None of them really cared that my booking was missing… none of them really cared that i was going to miss my flight … no one really cared about me … THE MONKEY CUSTOMER … that just spent one hour between counters and phone calls …

30 minutes to departure …

OM: Ya 7abibi … i need to get on that flight … if my booking is not there… just book me on it ..

OACP: No Way … its too late now … i cant do it … We could have done it before…but now the gate is closed

SPEECHLESS i was … feeling the dark side within me i was… Then he closes the counter and leaves …leaving me there …speechless…with out a ride … or a flight …The travel agent assures me that he has made the booking…. Oman Air lost it…. Who is to blame ? Oman Air or the travel agent ?

I blame my national carrier for not caring about its customers … the OACP could have immediately made another booking for me and made sure i got to where i was going… and then sorted out the missing booking after making sure the customer is happy. Shame on them. I just hope they dont treat everyone the same way they had treated me …

So while i wait for my ride i go to costa to have a coffee… the guy behind the counter with a big smile on his face asks me …

Are you from Sri Lanka?

About this entry