The New ID …

Yesterday I went to renew my ID card…. Overall I think was a fantastic experience … it was fun and relatively fast … These guys at the ROP are ahead of many other sectors in terms of organization … Yes it can still be more organized … But there is room for improvement where ever you go … In terms of getting better over time, I truly believe that the ROP deserve to take the top award … Today they strive to be a service oriented organization … Something I cannot say about actual service industry organization (we all know who) … today doing something like renewing ur car registration for example has become an easy process that takes less than half an hour … I remember spending half a day for the same process !

So getting to place proved to be a bit of challenge … I have not been to that area since they changed the roads for the airport interchange … there seems to be too many round abouts there … Every round about they took out from other places must have landed there … I think crossed at least 4 to get to the place …  First the one by the Fire College, then the one by the Golden toilet, then the one in the middle of the way, then finally the one next to bank dhofar…

Finding a parking was another challenge … Its very crowded and people park anywhere … Its one of those things that still need to be organized … I think the parking at where ur renew ur car registration shows that they have learned from this and fixed it … Have said that it took me 5 minutes to find parking … I was lucky …

My first stop was that cabin in the parking area … time check: 12:05 The place where one would print forms … If one needed forms to completed for what one was there to do … The form place is usually a private sector operation under sanad which I think this one was … As soon as I walked in I took a number …. This is something that I learned the hard way …. If u go ask they will tell u go take a number and by then 53 people already took number ahead of u … Then I went to ask if a form was needed for renewing an I’d … The guy at the reception/photocopy desk assured me that I must have a form …
id
“6ab3an lazim istimara” (of course you need a form) he said like I was a retard for asking the question…. So I sit down and wait for my number to come out on the big screen…. I wait 5 minutes and my number appears with a counter number next to it … I move the counter to see a young lady behind the desk … She was sooo laid back in her seat I thought I was in a rap song music video … she could have been one of the female rappers only she is Omani and is wearing a 3abaya (abaya) …

OM: tajdeed bi6aqa… 3andkum el istimara ? (ID renewal .. do you have the forms to fill out

OFR: ay ba6aqa 3andak ? (which card do you have?)

OM: ba6aqa sha’79iya .. (ID card)

OFR: wain el ba6aqa .. ashoofha (show me the card)

i give her the ID card and the number i took from the machine ..
she looks at them and gives them back real quick … and tells me i dont need to fill out a form … and i should just go into the main building … she also points out that i wont need the number print-out any more … like i was a retard for hanging on to it in the first place …  the amazing this is that she swings in her seat without leaning forward … she continues to be in her “rap star driving a car” position through out the conversation..

The next stop is the main building time check:12:10… here i came to realize that its those number dispensers that keep everyone organized in the this place… coz in this building the machine was behind the reception counter… i guess people were abusing the machines .. and they had to be controlled … so as a result there is no organized way to get to the counter to get a number .. unless they install number machines to issue numbers for that too … then you would have to take a number and waiting to get another number?! ..  as i wait in what seems to be a very flat queue … i see a guy with an application form … so i ask him if he is here to renew his ID card … to my shock .. he says

GQ: yes …

OM: but that woman at the other counter told me i dont need one ..

GQ: but they told me that i needed one !!!

OM: so do i need to go back and get one printed???

GQ: i dont know ..

I push my way into the crowd and i get to the front … i dont even ask for anything .. i just saw ID renewal … he prints a number for me and shoos me into the room on the left … i look at my number .. its 001 … i am number one? … as i walk into the room i see tens of people lounging around staring at a screen with the number 389 on it … i look at the screen then look at the paper in my hand… WTF … at that minute i hear a police guy shouting from the door at the end of the room “TAJDEEED B6AQAAAAT” (ID Cards Renewals) … that would be me, right? so i walk across and wait for him to direct the traffic that he attracted to him .. when its my turn i say …

OM:tajdeed b6aqa? (Card Renewal?)

PM: are you a woman?

OM: do i look like a woman?

PM: no, you dont..

OM: then why are you asking me if i am a woman ?

PM: because i called for women ID card renewals..

OM: OH ! where is the men ID card renewals

PM: Wait …

OM: Wait?

PM: Yes wait here …

Time Check 12:15

But .. i didnt wait .. i asked another police man for the place where “Male ID Cards” are renewed… he directed me to the area where expats are processed and told me that there arnt too many expats here today so we moved the renewals to where the expats are processed  … there are just too many Omanis here today …  Isnt that something ? they are even practicing load management … i am impressed … from there on it was smooth sailing … went into the office where they took my picture … and then waited at the other reception to get my new card …

walking out of there i check the time … its 12:25 …

that was a great example of organized chaos … i was in and out in less than 30 minutes … to renew my ID card !!

No w that this hasnt taken too much time …. i thought i could hang out a bit … maybe have a sandwich or check out the other waiting areas … instead I went back to policeman that took the picture looking for the number printout with 001 on it …

i thought i would keep it as a souvenir … he didnt find me entertaining and asked if i had received my new ID  … when i confirmed .. he asked me to leave ..

About this entry