The Security Guard …

I am not very entertained with people that use the rules as an excuse for not using their brains…

I am even less entertained when they tell me they understand what I am saying .. but they refuse to act based on that understanding …and blame that inaction on the rules …

I recently went with a few colleagues for a meeting to a place that pretends to take security very seriously… Lets call them Pretend, Don’t Offend (PDO) …

Side note: The situation made me feel like i was at an airport and was refused entry visa … when i was told by the travel agent that i will be able to get a visa on arrival .. but when you arrive you realize that getting a visa on arrival is your right .. but because somebody is refusing to cooperate you end being getting back on the plane home … i cannot imagine of the life of an immigration officer is like …

So we all arrive at the place to get our Entry Visa (EV) … but unfortunately … The name on my ID card was different to the name given to Visa Officer (VO) … Everybody else gets their visa and they are ready to enter … but not me … Not to delay them … I let them enter with out me thinking … this will not take too long boy was I wrong … Now I try to explain to VO that I am the same person that is supposed to be granted entry … I showed him my papers … I had print out … photocopies … multiple ID cards … I explained that I can prove that I am the person that is supposed to get the EV… I am the same person referred to in the email… How else could I have a copy of the email I even work for the same company that is referred to in the email …

I CAN EVEN REPLY TO THE EMAIL AND CC YOU IN THE RESPONSE !!!! which I did while standing in front of him …

VO: ana fahim .. bes hathi el ta3leemat (I understand … but these are the instructions I have)

OM: aish el ta3leemat (what are the instructions?)

VO: Ism illi fill bi6aqa lazim yikon mu6abiq lil-ism 3ala el tar5ee9 (same name on pass as on ID card. Its Must)

OM: Nafs el-ism inzain.. wa7id thuna2ni o wa7id ruba3i (Its the same name)

VO: i am sorry ..

OM: dont be sorry .. i am the same person you know …

VO: Cant help you…

OM: look this is my business card. it has three names … now look at my ID card … is the same person?

VO: I cannot tell

OM: so you need glasses too (didt say this out loud) you really think I would go through the trouble of faking company ID cards?

VO: Ma aqdar asa3dak … Ta3leemati ma tisma7li .. (I cannot help… my instructions do allow me)

OM: mafi 7ad ‘3ayrak hini? (is there anyone else I can speak to?)

VO: low sama7t 5ali el nass tsajil d5ool (please let the people behind you register …

Behind me where 15 pakistan/pattan workers getting signed in .. VO then asked them to write their names in the register … they started to look at each other … and screaming at a guy who was out side ..ABDULGHAFOOOR ..ABDULGHAFOOOR…ABDULGHAFOOOR…..ABDULGHAFOOOR.. Abdul come in running and was asked to write the name in the register … Abdul is the only guy that can write … but he can only write in urdu … so he started to write the names in urdu … he was really taking his time..

I had to wait for 20 minutes for a new email with my “correct” name to be sent… by the time I reached the meeting … it was already finished … I never understood why people behave that way … its like they refuse to make informed decisions… or make any decisions at all…. the minute something is not familiar these people get paralyzed …

I refuse to think that their brains cannot compute complex variables of a given situation … I also refuse to believe that they are stupid … I also think its unacceptable that this type of behavior is encouraged … Is it because he is a security guard pretending to be in the military following orders? Or is he lazy? Or is the situation too complicated for him to deal with?

This is just another one of life’s many mysteries …

About this entry