The MullaBobs and MuhajaBabes ..

This is a subject that has been on mind for a while now … New age muslim fashion is something that I don’t understand … I understand that people want to be fashionable … and I understand that people want to be Islamic … but the problem I have is with the results of trying to fuse materialism and Islamism … I don’t know if these are the best words to be used to describe what I am talking about but I guess what I am trying to talk about is the rise of the New Age Muslim/Mulla Youth (NAMY)…

I spent a good 40 minutes in the CenterPoint parking lot 2 weekends ago waiting for someone and just observing the \ people going in and out of the place. The experience was so entertaining and mind opening that I didn’t realize how long I was waiting for. Two things specifically caught my attention. The first is the title and theme of this post. The other, is the inherent anger that the Jordanian Man has to deal with. While I was looking for a parking spot this impatient angry man kept honking and shouting. The guy was so angry that the place was crowded and that he couldn’t leave the parking lot. He was angry that he was sitting in his car trying to drive it but because of the traffic … he cannot… He has his poor kid standing in the back seed taking in all that negative energy he was releasing … why are Jordanians so angry (AJ)?

So before we get into NAMY I think we should spend just a little time talking about NATY (New Age Traditional Youth). In this time of globalization, people have become much more aware of their national identity. I think, especially here in Oman, we have always been reminded that we should not let go of our traditions and our culture… and I think for that exact reason … being traditional or cultural had never trendy … The first NATY was probably not Omani … the first NATY however paved the way for the first NAMY … and now we have a mix of NAMY/NATYs running around the place…

Generally speaking there is a very clear difference between the two … one group would dress up the way it does because its hip and fashionable to do so … while the other is motivated by religion … also usually, you are able to tell the difference between the two groups … especially among the Men …while I waited in the car park that day I noticed that this distinction is starting to become more blurred…

This is mainly on the Men side as a I saw a few Omani NAMYs going in and out or CF while wearing those hip straight cut dishdashas … you know the ones that were “illegal” for a short period of time … they also had matching Kumas with the dishdasha threads (very hips) … one of them was even wearing jeans and a Man U jersey… now you may ask … the reason I thought they were NAMYs is because  they all had long beards and almost non existent moustaches … one of them even had some ku7ul on his eye… they then got into a Range Rover Sport and drove away …

Side Note: in my head (and I might be wrong) I always imagine religious people having less interest in the material things of this life … I always imagine that the more religious you become the more you will reject all the luxuries of life and you become a more practical collector of worldly stuff … maybe this is why i find this to be strange … maybe because its unusual … i dont know … but they stood out … and to be honest … they looked Good !!!

These NAMYs had a band spanking new RVS with a kick ass number plate on it as well … The MullaBobs have arrived … you would compare these guys to the MuhajaBabes (the book is not that great) … you know them … you’ve seen them … I am yet to see an Omani MuhajaBabe …but they are here … mostly arab expats but also western muslims ….  these are the girls that would wear the Burkini … which a clear example of where the line gets blurred …

The MBs are here … embrace them …

Finally, what on earth is that HUGE thing women have under their hijab these days??Is it supposed to be attractive?

About this entry